Allure of Illusions

Blog #5 2024

I have always been intrigued with virtual and mixed realities. In my professional life I dabbled in creating QR codes that would take the user to a photo, course or learning video. I had the opportunity a few years back to go to a mixed reality conference in San Jose. My senses were overloaded with the possibilities of making some of the learning content immersive. At the time, the technology was a bit clunky and very expensive. 

We’ve Come A Long Ways Baby

We have come a long way from that era and yet there is lots of opportunity for improvements. 

I bought myself a Meta Quest 3 headset and it arrived just after Christmas. The honeymoon phase is going strong as I explore what content is available. I found some pretty amazing apps for meditation and fitness and have been enjoying the explosion of visual and audio stimulation.

I even ventured into Horizon where you can go on adventures and meet other virtual participants. 

First Glance of a Virtual World

I began to see the allure of living in a virtual world. It’s beautiful, exciting and full of constant stimulation. The generations that are now growing up with all this fancy technology have some serious choices to make when it comes to living in actual reality or dissolving into the bliss of nirvana artificially created for them. How can the real world compete with a landscape that incorporates the best of nature’s offerings and artificially constructed vistas? Society going forward would benefit from making our world just as inviting as its virtual option.

Captor of Imaginations

As I stood in concert halls where I could build a bonfire while listening and watching a new age rapper the size of King Kong interact with the crowd, I began to wonder how parents were ever going to get their kids to come back to earth? I was beamed up in an alien ship, mixed myself a drink in a comedy club and played “catch the chicken wings” with a big frying pan. Walking down to the creek and swimming in the neighbourhood pond pales in comparison. Kids were zooming past me in the virtual malls on their way to meet up with their friends in a variety of venues. Going all over the galaxy without ever leaving their bedrooms.

Discovering the Inner Sanctum

I am intrigued and excited about the possibilities that this alternative existence offers.There are infinite opportunities to expand our individual worlds. The 360 tours found on Youtube can take you all over the world. An open invitation into the belly of pyramids in Egypt or one my favourite, the ancient temples in Thailand. I hope to visit these place one day but if that doesn’t happen I can still get a feel for what they must be like. I have fully taken advantage of getting workouts in on a more regular routine. I have been meditating everyday in the Tripp space. Interacting with others in the communities has been interesting and insightful. The impact to my reality has been to remember everything should be taken in moderation. If I spend time in an illusionary world I need to balance that with time consumed in my real world. Meditating with euphoria driven images and sound is countered with time spent in silence. I was happy to see that the Tripp app has a place called Sanctum. In this space you decide how little or much stimulation you immerse in while meditating. The designers has integrated a thoughtful sense of balance. 

Can you reach enlightenment through a bombardment of fantasy?

As far as I know, enlightenment comes through the destroying of fantasy to get to one’s true nature. So, I am going to say “probably not”. You can gain some basic skills to help with a daily practice. I am encouraged that I can practice my breathing techniques, strengthen my focus and acquire daily affirmations that help me to improve my mental health. 

Namaste

Published by vkonnect51gmail.com

Wild heart, free spirit, shaman enthusiast who loves to be curious about anything and everything. Avid traveller who is itching to explore more of this wonderful world when save to do so.

2 thoughts on “Allure of Illusions

Leave a comment