The Box

Blog #3-2024

I had a dream this morning and I was lucky enough to have remembered some of the details. This excites me as I often don’t recall enough of the dream to record the content.

In Dream Yoga, part of the process of unpacking the information gifted in a dream is to make sure to write down as much as you can about what occurred. 

The Dream

The frame starts with me arriving back at an ashram I have stayed at in the past. I am excited to revisit the familiar spaces. For some reason, I expect that my old room will be open for me to occupy. I walk in and look around searching for things that I had left there. As I scan the objects I realize that someone else now lives in this room. I experience a sinking feeling and try to rationalize that the fact that my ego expected time to stand still for me was arrogant, to say the least. I focus on a pair of sandals. They look well worn with bits of dirt and plant matter stuck to them. Fancy a walk in someone else’s shoes? The symbolism is not lost on me. I sit on the bed and come up with a plan. When the person comes back to the room I will just tell them that I am back and they need to move out. Wow, really? A voice inside my head seems to think that isn’t such a great idea. 

A Place to Sleep

A girl with dark long hair and thick black rimmed glasses walks into the space. She takes a stance that tells me she isn’t going to leave. I no longer can claim I live here. I look around once more and find myself drifting along paths some outside in the woods and some inside various buildings. I come across others and convey my concerns about not having a place to sleep. An older lady smiles and directs me to follow her. 

6 Feet Long and 2 Feet Tall

She leads me to a room with cubicles and stacked bunk beds. I resign myself to the fact that I will now be sharing an area with others. She ventures past all of this and points to a long box crate in a corner. The box is about 6 feet long and maybe 2 feet tall. The end is open and I can see inside. It has been painted lite green on the outside and is empty except for a  few cobwebs on the inside. I am reminded of a filing cabinet with a pull out drawer as its made out of metal and tan colored inside. I have a moment of panic as I contemplate my existence if I get in the box. 

Box Fit

Can I fit in this box? I, commonly, say “don’t put me in that box or I don’t fit that box”.  What am I doing? I stare at the box, willing it to grow into a beautiful space full of things I once clung to as relevant to my definition of who I am or who I was. Oh boy, this sequence in the dream isn’t going well for me or maybe it is? 

How many times do we do the same thing and expect a different result? It’s not lost on me what the box could represent. It looks like a simple coffin. It’s empty except for cobwebs which could mean that it hasn’t been occupied for some time. The box is situated away from the community in a corner on its own. Together but separate? Feelings of isolation even though there has been an attempt at inclusion? The box is made out of steel. It makes me feel cold and separated from others. I stand there looking at the box but have no desire to get closer or accept the fate of dwelling within it. I take that as a good sign. I am not ready for the box nor do I desire to be apart. I reject the box and move on awakening to a new day and a new piece of the puzzle that dwells within my mind.

What boxes are you trying to fit into? Some would think that an empty box has tons of potential. You can fill it with anything or nothing. 

Unboxing

As I work through my attachments this year I am enthusiastic about opening thought pattern boxes and tossing what no longer serves me. I know that I will always have an infinity to the ashram. That aspect of the dream doesn’t concern me. Belonging within that community is up to me and my degree of effort. My multiple visits there have changed my life. The way I think, feel, and interact with others has been altered forever. I am very grateful. I love that each experience while checking there that are unique yet familiar. I keep in contact through online classes and social media. I consider the community family and life long friends.

As I unpack more of the symbolism from the dream I may revisit this blog entry.

What are your dreams trying to tell you? Are you willing to pay attention to the inner guru? I know that I am always amazed at the information and depth of knowledge about myself contained within the visions. 

Namaste

PS-If you would like to know more about Dream Yoga please comment in the chat. I would love to hear about your experiences or dreams. We can also chat about symbolism and meanings.

If you are interested in life at an ashram or visiting Yasodhara I can direct you as to how to make that happen.

Published by vkonnect51gmail.com

Wild heart, free spirit, shaman enthusiast who loves to be curious about anything and everything. Avid traveller who is itching to explore more of this wonderful world when save to do so.

Leave a comment